City Council

Monday 2 November 2020

PRESENT:

Councillor Mavin, in the Chair. Councillor Winter, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Mrs Beer, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Buchan, Carson, Churchill, Coker, Cook, Corvid, Dann, Darcy, Sam Davey, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, James, Mrs Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Laing, Michael Leaves, Samantha Leaves, Loveridge, Lowry, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Parker-Delaz-Ajete, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Singh, P Smith, Stevens, Jon Taylor, Kate Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Wheeler and Wigens.

Apologies for absence: Councillor Ms Watkin.

The meeting started at 5.30 pm and finished at 6.20 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at www.plymouth.gov.uk. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

39. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Members in accordance with the code of conduct.

40. To agree committee membership

Members were advised that a report was provided from the Acting Monitoring Officer, Linda Torney, following a change to the political balance of the Council detailing revised committee membership. The Local Government Housing Act 1989 set out how seats should be allocated to Members of the Council and described a distribution of seats between political groups into which the council has divided itself. This was set out in the agenda pack.

It was highlighted that a mistake included in the original supplementary paperwork, specifically whereby the Chief Officer Disciplinary Panel (CODP) had a Conservative group majority, was corrected in a new supplement pack with the Labour group having a majority.

Councillor Rennie seconded the report and reserved his right to speak.

Following a debate Councillor Mrs Aspinall proposed to move to the vote, this was seconded by Councillor Sam Davey.

For (36) Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Buchan, Corvid, Carson, Churchill, Coker, Cook, Dann, Derrick, Sam Davey, Evans OBE, Goslin, Hendy, Mrs Johnson, Laing, Lowry, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Parker-Delaz-Ajete, Penberthy, Rennie, Singh, P. Smith, Stevens, J Taylor, K Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Wheeler and Winter.

Against (16) Councillors Mrs Beer, Mrs Bridgeman, Darcy, Deacon, Downie, Drean, James, Jordan, Kelly, Michael Leaves, Sam Leaves, Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly, Riley, R. Smith and Wigens.

Absent/ Did Not Vote (5) Councillors Haydon, Loveridge, McDonald, Watkin and Mavin (Lord Mayor).

Having moved to the vote, Council approved the revised committee membership:

For (37) Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Buchan, Corvid, Carson, Churchill, Coker, Cook, Dann, Derrick, Davey, Evans OBE, Goslin, Hendy, Mrs Johnson, Laing, Lowry, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Parker-Delaz-Ajete, Penberthy, Rennie, Singh, P Smith, Stevens, J Taylor, K Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Wheeler and Winter.

Against (16) Councillors Mrs Beer, Mrs Bridgeman, Darcy, Deacon, Downie, Drean, James, Jordan, Kelly, Michael Leaves, Sam Leaves, Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly, Riley, R Smith, Wigens

Absent/ Did Not Vote (4) Councillors Haydon, Loveridge, Watkin and Mavin (LM).